Never In My Wildest Dreams

I was known to be that one friend who always sit and just watch other people playing hand ball, foot ball and whatever during PE class since high school. I hate sweating, exercising and just simply moving! I mean, why do you need to move around when you can just sit and lay down?

During high school, I have a group of friends that I always hang out with and all of them join and practice Taekwando and they were really obsessed with it until now. I just can’t understand. Every time after their training or tournaments, they would showed me they bruises and injuries and that’s actually one of the reasons why I hate sports (and can’t ride a bicycle until now.)

YOU WILL GET INJURED!

Some even have a scar or permanent injury because of the tournaments. You guys need to love yourselves more! Haha.

I’m not scare of blood or whatever, I just don’t like hurting myself. Falling down and get kick for no reason is just a no-no to me. I even hate spicy food because IT HURTS. It hurts your tongue and my face will get red (my face get red easily actually).

Besides, I don’t have any talent in sports. I can not run really fast and I don’t have enough stamina or energy. Awkward turtle.

Well, I do feel jealous when my friends won medals or get certificates especially for sports tournaments because I know I would never get one but the future is uncertain and that’s the beauty of it.

And guess what?

Never in my wildest dream did I think I would join martial art club and actually won gold medal! I mean, what?!!

The first person from right.

MARTIAL ART TOURNAMENT. USMkk Group C. (The first person from the right.)

Back row on the left.

MARTIAL ART TOURNAMENT. USMkk Group C with Kak Billah. (Back row on the left.)

Look at that face, acting cute and stuff. My first gold medal. I’m so proud of myself. Haha. Good job, dear self! *Pat myself on the back*

I don’t have any special or fancy reasons when I decided to join *Silat Cekak like other people. “I want to learn to defend myself when in danger”, “I’ve always wanted to learn martial art.” or “I love to try new things.” bla bla bla because I just want the 6 units for Curriculum so I can graduate.

Again, the future is uncertain. I enjoyed it. The members were so nice and they really practice the Malay’s tradition.

Good manners and keeping with the adat. Even the moves were taken from Salat (Muslim prayers).

The classes were fun even though some of the move or we call it ‘buah‘ were kind of hard to do and hurt you. It felt really great when you do it right and felt like you have accomplished something huge. Haha. The first level, **Peringkat Asas was okay, I guess and I think I did great during the test. I’m currently in **Peringkat Jatuh and it’s really killing me BUT IT WAS WORTH IT.

You don’t really going to understand or know something until you experiences it yourself and I think I know why my friends were so obsessed with Taekwando. Even though Taekwando and Silat Cekak is really different, I get the feeling. Haha 😀

*Malay’s martial art.
** Both are the 1st of the 3 stages in Silat Cekak.

5 thoughts on “Never In My Wildest Dreams

Leave a Reply

