A Shot At a Silver Lining

Do you still remember that feeling when you need to get up early for 5 days straight when you were still in high school? I do. It was such a horrible feeling but I survive.

High school was fun. You have your friends that you have known since you were kids. Gossips. Puppy love. The easiest part of life, they said and I agree.

You do not need to care about scholarship, student loan, 20k debts or more, going on interviews or getting rejected by your favorite university. Unemployment. Living far away from your home, family and friends. Society.

College was stressful for me but there were good times, there were bad times and only Allah knows how my university life would be when the time comes. However, I’m thankful for all my struggle because without them I wouldn’t be the person I am today.

To anyone who still clueless about your goal in life or dreams in the future, let what you love be what you do. Do something that your future self will thank you for.

And of course, there will be always this kind of people,

Be a doctor, she said.

Be an engineer, he said.

Be a lawyer, they said.

And their reaction when you said what you want to be was none of the above.

“I am the one who will study for 4 to 5 years to get degrees, shit is not even free. Then, I’m going to work my ass off until I’m retired, 50 or 60 years old. So, why can’t I do something that I love?”

But of course, in reality I just stay quiet because sometimes it’s better to react with no reaction… and I don’t want to be rude or overemotional because that’s not cute.

I wrote this post was just to help me calm myself because it’s already past 1AM, I’m still not sleepy and the result for my university admissions will be out soon and I would be lying if I said I’m not scared or nervous at all.

I’m freaking out! To be honest, I don’t even know what I’m going to do if I got rejected or doesn’t get my first choice.

But someone said this to me once,

“Whatever you get, just believe it is the one for you and it is meant to be. “

It does help me to calm a little and I hope it helps you too. I do not know whether my life would go as plan but that’s okay.

It’s okay when your life did not end up where you thought you were going but you will always end up where you are meant to be.

It may sound cliche but EHFAR and if you stay positive in life you have a shot at a silver lining.

Wish me luck and fare thee well.

Leave a Reply

