Band Review: The 1975

Band: The 1975

Members: Matty Healy, Ross MacDonald, Adam Hann and George Daniel.

Genres: Indie Rock, Indie Pop.

the1975-album-art

When I first heard of their hit song, Chocolate, I don’t really like it. So I tried to listen to their other songs such as Girls, Sex, So Far (It’s Alright) and they are actually pretty good. Their songs are really refreshing and the vocalist have this really thick accent. Maybe that’s why when I first heard of Chocolate I found it such a weird song since it was really hard to understand the vocalist’s words.

When I listen to Chocolate again, I started to like the song more and more. I find that the vocalist’s accent is freaking sexy and makes them different from other bands. Well, that’s just my opinion. I actually prefer the acoustic version of Chocolate and Sex. His voice and the thick accents are just so relaxing and just the type of music you want to listen to when it is raining or days when you want to just sit back and relax.

However, some people, of course, hate them. They found it really weird because he sing in an accent and some even thought that he was not singing in English. Haha. Some said that all their songs sound the same. Well, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. But still, I don’t think people should bash or leave mean comments saying that their music or other music sucks or gay.

Furthermore, they also make a cover of One Direction’s song What Makes You Beautiful. I prefer their cover than the original. It was a slow song and really different from the original. Such an eargasm. And of course there are people who thinks that they are making the song sound depressing. Lol.

I know that saying a band that they are different does’t make them any different or unique from other bands such as The Neighborhood or Haim but just try listening to their whole album and you’ll know what I mean. I just love their music style. Cheers 😀

Leave a Reply

