Recommendation: BABYMETAL

Babymetal

I started watching anime again after I finished with college. One of the many reasons why I love watching anime is because their sound tracks are really catchy and funky. I admit that I’m a sucker for Japanese songs. Up-tempo, lively Japanese songs even though I do not understand a single word they said.

I love to listen to their fast beat music and if you are just like me, maybe you should try listening to BABYMETAL. They are Japanese metal vocal and dance group and the concept for the group is “fusion of metal and idol”. Doesn’t make any sense, huh? To make it simple, their genres are heavy metal and Jpop. Thus, Kawaii metal is produced.

The members consist of Yui Mizono (Yui-metal, 14), Suzuka Nakamoto (Su-metal, 16) and Moa Kikuchi (Mao-metal, 14). Shocking, eh? Despite of their young age, they are very talented. The lead vocals, Su-metal has such an amazing voice and the other two are full of energy and really good at making the crowd go crazy. I would love to go to their concert especially after I watched one of their videos, Gimme Chocolate. See it for yourself and they are actually pretty popular despite of all the weirdness.

I know about them when I watched TheFineBros‘s videos on Youtube called Youtuber React to BABYMETAL and I instantly fell in love with their music. Some people said that, BABYMETAL is a humiliation to metal, their songs are not “real” metal and weird, crappy bands. I’m not a metal-head and I know that Japanese made a lot of weird shit but BABYMETAL is not that bad.

The band members stated that their type of metal was a “newborn” genre and that was “baby” in BABYMETAL stood for. Try listening to Uki Uki Midnight and Line. You can see that their songs start cute and then metal and then back to cute. So many things happened in just one song. Haha.

 

Do you like them, hate them or just can’t decide yet because of so many weirdness for you to handle? Or maybe you can recommend me some of your favorite Japanese band 😀

3 thoughts on “Recommendation: BABYMETAL

  1. Anastasia

    Haha, I just finished re(re-re-)watching Ouran yesterday. It’s so funny!! 😀 I am not too much into listening Jpop but I like hmm… Maaya Sakamoto / Gravity, Rie Fu, Wakeshima Kanon/Still Doll 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. azsyerrah Post author

      I know right. Haha. Maybe you should try watching Gekka Shouja Nozaki-kun. It’s really funny and lot of weird male characters. Just like Ouran. Haha. Thank you so much. I’m gonna look them up later 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

